IGNITE THE RESET

Ignite the reset
     Today is a new day. I decided just last night that there are some goals that I’ve not accomplished, and I’m just sick and tired of being sick and tired! Do you ever just get fed up with yourself? That’s where I’m at right now. There are just some things that have to change! I just know that I can’t stay in the place that I am in, so I’m calling a “RESET”. I’m exercising the grace given to me to start over.  It’s something I learned from Abraham, who was called by God to leave the house of his father and travel to a land that He (God) would show him (Genesis 12). I know there are some things that God has called me to as well, and I’ve not followed through with His plan for me. But, today is a new day! Over the years, Abraham’s life has taught me many lessons, and this day he reminded me of the “reset”.
     Abraham departed with his cousin, Lot, and his wife, Sarai, and their possessions, and came to the land of Canaan. Here, The Lord appeared to Abraham, promised the land to his descendants, and Abraham built an altar to the Lord.  He moved east, and still the same, he built an altar to the Lord. And finally, he journeyed on towards the South where he found their to be a famine in the land. Genesis 12:10 is where I found that I often followed Abraham in his actions- Abraham found a famine in the land, but instead of calling out to the Lord and building an alter to the Lord as he had done in the past, the bible records that Abraham decided to go down to Egypt, where prosperity seemed to flow.  All too often in my life, I’ve been like Abraham, and followed what I thought looked good at the time instead of consulting the one who sent me. Have you ever moved in the direction that seemed right, only to find out that it was all wrong? Oh, how many headaches and heartaches we would save ourselves if we only just slowed down and asked God what our next move should be!
     If you go on to read in Genesis, Abraham’s wife was good to look at, and he was concerned that the men in Egypt would kill him to take her as their own.  So he conspired with her to lie and say that she was his sister, in order to spare his life. As predicted by Abraham, Sarai was taken into the house of Pharaoh, and Abraham was awarded greatly for her with livestock and servants. But the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house because he had taken up with someone else’s wife. Pharaoh called on Abraham for questioning, learned the truth, and sent him away. Chapter 13 begins with noting that Abraham- with wife, Lot and riches from the house of Pharaoh- went back to where he had camped at the beginning, the place where he first built an altar, and called on the name of the Lord.  If he had done that first,  perhaps he would not have brought suffering into the house of Pharaoh, and the problems that followed.
     There are definitely consequences, good or bad, to every decision that is made. It is possible that you may go back to the point where you went off track, and find that you made your road more difficult by departing off the intended track to begin with. If that’s you today- if you are finding yourself on a path not intended and wondering how you are ever going to come back from your mistake, think about Abraham and how he went back to where he lost touch with the Father. As Abraham found, he hadn’t followed the direction of God completely from the beginning and did indeed bring trouble to himself and those he traveled with. However, God still extended Grace and Mercy and made him a “father of many nations”. Repent, lay it all out on the altar, and experience the restorative power of God’s grace! Because He loves us…
     Psalm 23:2-3a “He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet          waters, he restores my soul.”
Sincerely with Love,
Jess ❤

Leave a comment